h1

Holidays

Fri 4 July, 2008

Holidays are a strange time. I very much needed this break as it felt like a massive semester and I was working on assignments right up until the end. Also, if there’s anything I love, it’s relaxing and lazing about.

So whilst it’s good to have this rest I also dislike holidays for a few reasons. Firstly I never seem to do much with my friends during holidays, it seems strange but we all just seem to go off and do our own thing and never really get together. Secondly, bible study groups and youth break up. The lack of scheduled looking at God’s word seems to disrupt my walk, I always become slack with reading my bible and prayer during this time.

I suppose that’s all I really had to say about that.

2 comments

  1. “I always become slack with reading my bible and prayer during this time.”
    Yeah, I’ve found that. The irony is that you think ‘cool, I’ll have more time to read the Bible” but then don’t.
    I’ve been thinking recently: why do we have the Bible and the book we are reading at the moment? Why not make the Bible the book we are reading at the moment? So all the time you normally read something else, trains, buses, waiting, at night, at breakfast etc you read the Bible.”

    I also find the more I read, the more I want to read.


  2. Good point. I don’t want to make it sound like we shouldn’t read the Bible all the time but there are plenty of Christian books, novels and other books I like to read. Whilst it wouldn’t be a bad thing to neglect all of those to exclusively read the Bible it doesn’t feel wise to ignore everything else.



Leave a Reply

